Asham © Internet

A Beautiful Day: Drive Through Asham & Shilong

Asham was a very well known city to me. There are several histories of Babu and the tea states which always made me dreamy about Asham. I never think that I will visit asham, I always pictured about the cloud, the greenery, the simple life of asham.

I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to visit asham for one day as it was on my traveling route. I was traveling from Shilong and I realized that I can easily visit asham. I managed to spend one day in asham. Here is my story about traveling to Asham.

After spending one day in Shilong I went to bed very early and wake up early also. I packed my language; a handbag and a small traveling bag. I used to not take too much clothing or essentials while traveling. One pair of jeans, four t-shirts, and other essentials are quite well fitted in my small traveling bag. I forgot to mention about my jacket, I always keep one while traveling.

After I finished my breakfast I was waiting for my vehicle. After a while, my rented vehicle came. It was 10.00 AM then. The driver and I were the only passengers in the four-seater. So there were plenty of spaces, I just kept my luggage in the back seat. It was a whole day journey. Shilong to Asham is like a four hours driving distance.

On the way to Asham, my driver stopped the car beside a lake named Williams Lake. It was very beautiful scenery. It was calm, nice, and clean. We had a couple of cups of tea at the tea stall beside the gate of the lake. I observed Shilong city from the top- a breathtaking view. I spent some time sitting beside the lake. Then again started.

My next destination is the Kamaka Temple. Around 2 o`clock I entered one of the Ashamese city. There were very few buildings and fewer billboards written in Ashamese language. So, I couldn’t be particular about the place name. Here the weather was not so pleasant like Shilong. It was hot and dry. I was hungry and choose a random restaurant beside the road. The ambiance and food quality were not such good. But I am habituated with it. I know that while I am traveling I have to compromise.

After having lunch I started towards Kamakha Mandir. It was nearly 3.00 PM, I arrived over there.

Every day thousands of people come to visit Kamakha Temple. Some people come here to perform the rituals while others come to observe history. The Mandir entrance started with stairs. Small shops were selling things that use in Puja.

I entered the Temple. This temple is not only familiar to the Indians but also familiar to other nationals. According to Kalika Puran, praying over here will fulfill all your wanting. I observed the terracotta and the ancient architecture of this old structure. Some devoted people were lighting small lamps while some others were tying small knots by using colored ribbon to a sacred tree. I lost some time in the past. It was amazing.

Is was nearly evening. My train to Shiliguri was at 10.30 PM. I said goodbye to my driver and kept my bags in the station cloakroom. I was amazed to see the clean and tidy platform of the NJP station.

There were lots of tea stalls inside and outside of the station. I had a cup of tea. Ashames tea is excellent. I started to explore the Asham city life, the evening. I spent some time to buy small gifts for friends and family.

I had my dinner in a local restaurant and started to wait for the train. The Kanchenjunga train was on time. After boarding, I got my seat and within a while, the train started to run towards New Jalpai Guri. My next destination is Darjeeling.

Though I was fascinated by the tea estates and the related peoples. I couldn’t make it to pass few days in the tea state and mix with the people. Still, the beauty of Asham, the clam nature of Asham will always call me. Surely, one day I will visit Asham and will spend my days to make my dream come true.

--

--

Imad Shariat contact : writerhere2017@gmail.com
0 Followers

Imad, working as a freelance writer for several years and way to go. Here, he shears experiences which can amaze you by many ways. His hunger is exploration.